Nassau School Notebook: Great Neck South wins regional science bowl

Nassau School Notebook: Great Neck South wins regional science bowl

A group from Nice Neck South Center Faculty has gained first place on this 12 months’s Lengthy Island and New York Metropolis Regional Center Faculty Science Bowl.

The victory means the center college has gained the regional bowl for 4 consecutive years. It additionally implies that Nice Neck colleges have swept the regional center and highschool bowls in back-to-back years, as a Nice Neck South Excessive Faculty group gained the Lengthy Island Regional Excessive Faculty Science Bowl in January.

The bowl, which attracted 20 groups from 11 center colleges, is a “Jeopardy!”-style competitors that featured matters together with math and common, life and bodily sciences. It’s sometimes held at Brookhaven Nationwide Laboratory, however was held nearly this 12 months due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Nice Neck South’s group members are Ashley Nguyen, Yilin Qiao, Allen Vee and Zican Zhang. They are going to subsequent compete nearly within the Nationwide Science Bowl in Might.

“We had an enormous morale enhance after getting two life science questions appropriate in a row in an elimination spherical,” Qiao mentioned of the regional bowl.

The regional bowl’s second- and third-place honors went to groups from Hunter School Excessive Faculty in Manhattan and one other group from Nice Neck South Center Faculty, respectively.

This 12 months’s occasion additionally featured a Cybersecurity Problem that tasked college students with finishing an encryption puzzle. First-place went to Anant Gupta of Nice Neck South Center Faculty.


Exercise wheel

Steele Elementary Faculty has been utilizing an outside hand-painted “exercise wheel” throughout bodily schooling courses through the COVID-19 pandemic. The wheel, which presents enjoyable health challenges whereas permitting for social distancing, was created utilizing stencils constructed from cardboard bins and paint donated by Ace Hardware in Baldwin.

Health stations embrace hopscotch, a maze and a strolling path with painted “grass” and a blue “lake.” They have been created by bodily schooling academics Joseph Billi and Richard Garguilo.

“The dedication, ardour and creativity evidenced in Mr. Billi’s and Mr. Garguilo’s work on the creation of the exercise wheel have served to offer numerous hours of significant bodily exercise for all youngsters and has been an incredible supply of pleasure,” Steele Principal Nicole Hunn mentioned.


New principal

James O’Brien has been named principal of Martin Avenue Elementary Faculty within the North Bellmore Faculty District, efficient July 1. He’ll substitute Leyna Malone, who will grow to be the district’s govt director of pupil personnel providers and particular schooling.

O’Brien, who has labored within the district for 20 years, is at present the assistant principal on the district’s Noticed Mill Street Elementary Faculty. He has additionally taught sixth grade on the college.

“I am undoubtedly excited to work with the employees, the mother and father and particularly the scholars,” O’Brien mentioned. “I stay up for constructing relationships with the whole Martin Avenue Faculty group.”


Youngsters of Distinction

Thirty-eight college students have been named “Youngsters of Distinction” by Nassau County in recognition of their arduous work, dedication and success.

The winners and their college districts have been: Jacob High-quality, Joshua High-quality, Caroline Gross and Arjun Mehta, Jericho; Anna Catherine Cote and Jenna Halpin, Locust Valley; Daniel Ciccone, Manhasset; Stella Gold, North Shore; Mariela Altamirano, Tate Baehr, Kevin Biggiani, Joseph Brienza, Matthew Carlinsky, Kaitlynn Chang, Amelia Hahn, Ali Khalfan, Elise Kim, Chase Lordi, Liliana McEvoy, Jancarlos Moran, Kaela Miley, Samantha Myers, Julia Noboa, Katherine Pinnock, Peter Sapienza, Audrey Underberg and Marielle Vasquez, Oyster Bay-East Norwich; Carly Smithson, Roslyn; Jake Gagliano, Joseph Gagliano, Baani Gulati, Sabrina Guo, Uma Kaushik, Eesha Kaushik, Matthew Kusnetz, Anoushka Rishi, Ethan Silverstein and Aayush Turakhia, Syosset.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *