Pro14: Leinster 40-5 Cardiff Blues

Pro14: Leinster 40-5 Cardiff Blues

Aled Summerhill is tackled by Liam Turner
Aled Summerhill scored Blues’ solely attempt on the RDS Area
Leinster (19) 40
Tries: Kearney, O’Brien, Tracy, Penny 2, Silvester Cons: Byrne 5
Cardiff Blues (5) 5
Strive: Summerhill

Reigning champions Leinster saved up an ideal begin to the Professional14 season with a bonus-point win over Cardiff Blues.

Dave Kearney’s attempt within the opening minute set the tone, with Jimmy O’Brien crossing for a second earlier than Aled Summerhill replied for Blues.

A James Tracy rating, Scott Penny’s double and Michael Silvester’s late attempt gave Leinster a convincing win.

In doing so, Leo Cullen’s facet equalled the Championship file of seven five-point victories in succession.

Leinster’s 26th successive victory within the Professional14 sees them preserve their place on the prime of Convention A.

The hosts made an instantaneous influence and scored the opening attempt a minute into the sport.

Ciaran Frawley discovered Kearney on the skin and the Eire wing crossed over the road, with Harry Byrne including the conversion.

Leinster have been firmly in management and O’Brien touched down for his or her second attempt after a kick and chase that Jason Tovey didn’t intercept.

Byrne added the extras however Blues responded effectively and Summerhill went over within the nook after transfer by the guests.

Blues, who had not away in Leinster since 2004, have been buoyed by the try to spectacular Ben Thomas fed Garyn Smith, just for a handing error by the centre to carry a promising to an finish.

Leinster, nevertheless, had the primary half’s closing phrase when Tracey scored a 3rd attempt following a driving line-out.

Blues needed to defend heroically with flanker Alun Lawrence, making his first senior begin, stopping a attempt for the hosts whereas the returning Tomos Williams put in an important deal with to cease Rhys Ruddock.

However the house facet’s stress lastly instructed with beneath 15 minutes remaining alternative Penny secured the bonus level, powering over from shut vary with Byrne changing.

There was no let up from the hosts and Penny crossed for his second attempt – and Leinster’s fifth – six minutes later, with Byrne changing.

One other alternative, Silvester, latched on to Byrne’s kick to the touch down for the sport’s closing attempt earlier than the fly-half’s fifth profitable conversion accomplished the win.

Leinster: Jimmy O’Brien, Cian Kelleher, Liam Turner, Ciaran Frawley, Dave Kearney, Harry Byrne, Luke McGrath; Peter Dooley, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Ryan Baird, Josh Murphy, Dan Leavy, Rhys Ruddock (capt).

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Michael Milne, Tom Clarkson, Devin Toner, Jack Dunne, Rowan Osborne, Michael Silvester, Scott Penny.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Owen Lane, Garyn Smith, Ben Thomas, Aled Summerhill; Jarrod Evans (capt), Tomos Williams; Corey Domachowski, Ethan Lewis, Dmitri Arhip, Ben Murphy, Rory Thornton, James Ratti, Alun Lawrence, Josh Turnbull.

Replacements: Iestyn Harris, Brad Thyer, Keiron Assiratti, Teddy Williams, Gwilym Bradley, Jamie Hill, Max Llewellyn, Hallam Amos.

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)

Assistant referees: Peter Martin (Eire) & George Clancy (Eire)

TMO: Olly Hodges (Eire)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *